ANNUAL MEETING

SURING PUBLIC SCHOOL DISTRICT 920-842-2178 411 E. Algoma Street, Suring WI 54174 Monday, October 22, 2018 - 5:30 P.M. - Conference Room #300

The Annual Meeting of the Suring Public School District was called to order by Board President Sleeter.

Pledge of Allegiance

Board Members present: Cathleen Lundgren, Dennis Piepkorn, Eugene School, Jr., Amanda Seibert, Wayne Sleeter, Mark Strehlow, Wendy Wozniak.

Administration present: Kelly Casper.

Visitors present: Sharon Jansen, Donna-Mae Schelk, Amy Hermsen, Becky Dickson, Victoria Gardebrecht, Greg Lechleitner, Leslie Steffeck, Heidi Gerndt, Melissa Hischke, Amy M. Regal, Cindy Scheunemann.

Motion by Dennis Piepkorn, seconded by Eugene School, to nominate Wayne Sleeter as Annual Meeting Chairman. Motion Carried.

Motion by Dennis Piepkorn, seconded by Mark Strehlow, to close the nominations. Motion Carried.

The public was satisfied with the printed minutes of the 2017 Annual Meeting and did not want them read.

Motion by Becky Dickson, Town of How, seconded by Dona-Mae Schelk, Village of Suring, to accept the minutes as presented from last years meeting without being read. Motion Carried.

District Administrator Kelly Casper presented the budget for the 2018-19 school year. In her presentation she again shared how open-enrollment has affected the budget.

Motion by Cindy Scheunemann, Town of Mountain, seconded by Greg Lechleitner, Town of Bagley, to accept the budget. Motion Carried.

Motion by Leslie Steffeck, Village of Suring, seconded by Victoria Gardebrecht, Town of Maple Valley, to close the budget hearing. Motion Carried.

Discussion took place on current salaries.

Motion by Greg Lechleitner, Town of Bagley, seconded by Leslie Steffeck, Village of Suring, to approve the resolution: Be it resolved by the electors of the Suring Public School District, Oconto County, Wisconsin, the following yearly salaries be adopted for the members of the Board of Education for 2018-2019 as: President \$1950, Clerk \$1900, Treasurer \$1750, Members \$1750 per year. Motion Carried.

Question asked concerning mileage rate.

Motion by Greg Lechleitner, Town of Bagley, seconded by Donna-Mae Schelk, Village of Suring, to approve the resolution: Be it resolved by the electors of the Suring Public School District, Oconto County, Wisconsin, to authorize the reimbursement to the state convention participants \$200 for four days or \$50 per day and to authorize reimbursement of expenses of Board Members when traveling outside of the district in the performance of duties. In addition, the mileage reimbursement at the federal rate will be paid to board members to attend regular and special board meetings - less mileage at convention and following the guidelines as found in the handbook for meals. Motion Carried.

Motion by Becky Dickson, Town of How, seconded by Cindy Scheunemann, Town of Mountain, to approve the resolution: Be it resolved that electors of the Suring Public School District, Oconto County, Wisconsin, authorize the sale of any property, including equipment, belonging to and not needed by the said district for school purposes. Be it further resolved that the conduct of the sale of such property be determined by said Board of Education. Motion Carried.

Motion by Sharon Jansen, Village of Suring, seconded by Heidi Gerndt, Town of Mountain, to approve the resolution: Be it resolved that the Board of Education of the Suring Public School District of Oconto County, Wisconsin, is directed to furnish hot lunches and milk to any and all students attending the Suring Public School and also to provide a breakfast program for students in grades Pk-12 at such places and times and such cost as shall be set by said School Board, and the School Board is hereby authorized to pay any deficiency which may result from said lunch and breakfast program. Motion Carried.

Motion by Leslie Steffeck, Village of Suring, seconded by Becky Dickson, Town of How, to approve the resolution: Be it resolved that there shall be levied upon the taxable property of the Suring Public School District, Oconto County, Wisconsin, for the purpose of defraying the cost for the 2018-19 school year, the sum of \$4,491,469 for the operation and maintenance of Fund 10 and \$7,062 for the operation of Fund 80. Motion Carried.

Motion by Sharon Jansen, Village of Suring, seconded by Melissa Hischke, Town of How, to set the date and time of the 2019 Annual Meeting on Monday, October 28, 2019 at 5:30 pm. Motion Carried.

There was no other school business discussion at this time as authorized under Chapter 120.10 of the Wisconsin Statutes.

Community comments included thoughts on board work taken seriously, dedication and service, and how nice the new school sign was.

Motion by Cindy Scheunemann, Town of Mountain, seconded by Donna-Mae Schelk, Village of Suring, to approve the minutes of the Annual Meeting. Motion Carried.

Motion by Leslie Steffeck, Village of Suring, seconded by Heidi Gerndt, Town of Mountain, to adjourn the Annual Meeting. Motion Carried.

Cathleen Lundgren, Board Clerk

Time 6:14 P.M.